Search This Blog

Social Share

Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Search Here

Powered by Blogger.

Find Us On Facebook

Latest Posts

Random Posts

Join with us

Over 600,000+ Readers Get fresh content from Eva

Popular Posts

Most Popular

Sunday, 25 March 2018

EFIWE NEWS: Two UI Student Journalists; Alao Abiodun, Haleem Olatunji Bags Award At Campus Journalism Summit, Abuja

Two UI student journalists, Alao Abiodun, Haleem Olatunji bagged the awards  of the Best News Reporter of the Year and Features article writer of the year respectively at the first annual campus journalism summit held at Regency Hotel, Abuja

The Award which was organised by Youth Digest in Abuja with the Theme as Curbing Hate Speech on Social Media had in attendance selected campus journalists who were finalists at the award other notable media moguls.

Speaking at the event, Dapo Olorunyomi, the Publisher of Premium Times Nigeria said journalists should be able to make use of social media wisely and guide against hate speech. He said "Pillar of Democracy should be based on Journalism. To guide against hate speech on social media, a journalist must be truthful and accurate and must be developed to be verified. The best way a journalist can suffer is to be defined as an incredibility fellow" He said.

"Nigerians must proffer a solution to hate speech on social media and part of the solutions that must be found are; Nigerians needs to be orientated, zero tolerance, Education Architect and Rigorous Debate and Fact Checking amongst others" he added further

The Editor, Youths Digest Magazine, Gidado Shuaib expressed his gratitude and support at the Campus Journalism Awards 2018. He said "It wasn’t an easy task organising such an event but we thank Almighty God for the final outing".

The Event had in attendance - Chairman of the Occasion; Mr Femi Adeshina, Guest speaker Mr Dapo Olorunyomi, Senior policy advisor Embassy of Netherlands, Fidelia Onoghaife, Editor of Daily Trust, Nasir Lawan, PR Guru Mallam Sule Yau Sule, Managing Editor, Nation newspapers Mallam Yusuf Alli, Publisher of Daily Nigerian Jaafar Jafar, President of NANS, Chinonso Obasi, Dr Umar Kari of University of Abuja, General Chris Olukolade, Senator Dahiru Umar
Tambuwal, Director of Information, Office of the Accountant General of the Federation, Offia Kenechukwu, Chief Press Secretary to Niger state Governor, Mal. Jibrin Baba Ndace.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Contact Unibadan Efiwe On WhatsApp For Business! CLICK ICON

Follow Unibadan Efiwe On Twitter