Search This Blog

Social Share

Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Search Here

Powered by Blogger.

Find Us On Facebook

Latest Posts

Random Posts

Join with us

Over 600,000+ Readers Get fresh content from Eva

Popular Posts

Most Popular

Saturday, 25 June 2016

EFIWE NEWS: The Student Representative Council Has No Power To Determine Dues - Dean Of Students

“The Claim to quash our resolution cannot hold water” – Speaker, SRC

“(We) are not subject to the activities of the Students’ Union” – Faculty Presidents

The Dean of Students has said that the Student Representatives Council has no power to determine, decide or interfere with the dues of the various Faculties,Departments and Halls of Residence.

This statement is contained in an internal memorandum signed by the Dean of Students and published on the various notice boards in the Halls of Residence.

“I write as a follow up to my earlier memo concerning the need to harmonize fees payable by students in your Faculties/Departments/Halls of Residence, following the resolution of the Student Representatives Council 5th Assembly sitting dated 7th November, 2015.

I am to inform you that the Legal Unit has advised that Student Representatives has no such power to interfere, determine or decide the dues of the various Faculties/Departments/Halls of Residence. Kindly disregard my earlier directives in this respect” The document added.

In another document obtained from sources close to the students affairs and signed by Benedicta Adigwe, the Senior Assistant Registrar (Legal) comments on an earlier letter written by Faculty Presidents to contest the 2,000 naira basic dues that “There is nowhere where the University Regulations merges Faculties and Departmental Associations with the Students Union.

“The simple fact/tradition that all the Faculties and Departmental Associations function within the Faculty/Department and fix their dues over the years is an attestation to the independent existence of the Departments/Faculties; more importantly, there is no provision in the Students Union’s Constitution that empowers the SRC to determine the dues for the various Departmental/Faculties Associations.”, She added.

The Speaker of the 5th Assembly, Rt. Hon. Arogundade Toheeb, said in a chat while commenting on the new development that, “Obviously, this claim to quash the SRC Resolution cannot hold water because the 2,000 naira basic due was the resolution of over hundred Students Representatives representing about 30,000 students and not a decision of just a few.

The directive of the Students Affairs will be presented for the house to make her decision today. But I must state that it’s a pity that those Faculty Presidents have allowed themselves to be used as a divisive tool”.

The list of presidents who signed the petition against the SRC Resolution and the 2,000 naira basic dues includes Opeyemi Adeleke, LSS President, Adejare Adeoye, AFAS president, Ajiga Elijah, PANS President, Adegbola Victoria, NAAS President, Kazeem Akinwande, NUESA President, Adeyemo Emmanuel, FATSSSA President and Ariyo Adebayo of Veterinary Medicine.

It will be recalled that the SRC (5th Assembly) led by Rt. Hon. Arogundade Toheeb in its sitting dated 7th November, 2015, made a resolution that all basic and compulsory dues in the various Halls, Faculties and Departments must not be more than 2000 naira.

The decision, the House said has to be reached to check the extravagance, Extortion and wastefulness going on in the various Halls of Residence, Departments and Faculties.

Source: UCJUI

No comments:

Post a Comment

Contact Unibadan Efiwe On WhatsApp For Business! CLICK ICON

Follow Unibadan Efiwe On Twitter